Papua New Guinea Visa

Papua New Guinea Visa - simplify your travel arrangements with an easy online visa application process.

Apply for PNG Visa Requirements PNG Visa

About PNG electronic visa

Papua New Guinea eVisa is a one-entry electronic visa that the PNG Government decided to introduce to facilitate and speed up the visa application process for the number of foreign travelers.

Applicants eligible for a Papua New Guinea online visa no longer need to visit the embassy or consulate to apply for a visa. Instead, the entire application process can be handled online using a working electronic device connected to the Internet.

Travelers can apply for two types of Visitor eVisa, which can be issued either for 30 or 60 days. Both visas cover all kinds of leisure purposes such as sightseeing, holidays, family and friend meetings, etc. The validity of approved Papua New Guinea visas starts from the date when a traveler plans to enter Papua New Guinea.

The PNG online visa application involves three very simple steps, including providing the required details to the online application form, paying the service fee, and downloading the approved visa sent to the applicant's email inbox.

It is essential to remember that the application for a PNG eVisa should be made at least 3 business days prior to the intended trip to ensure that the visa is ready on time.

Types of Papua New Guinea eVisa

At the moment, eligible travelers can choose between two types of PNG tourist visas which only differ in terms of the length of stay and validity period:

  • 30-Day Visitor eVisa: a one-entry online visa issued for all tourism-related purposes, including holidays, sightseeing, family and friend reunions, etc.; this type of a tourist visa remains valid for 30 days while the validity period starts from the date of intended arrival in PNG;

  • 60-Day Visitor eVisa: a one-entry online visa issued for leisure-related purposes; it stays effective for 60 days, while the visa validity is calculated from the one's planned arrival in Papua New Guinea.

png visa application

How to Apply for a Papua New Guinea Visa Online

Start by confirming your PNG eVisa eligibility. After ensuring that you are entitled to apply for a PNG online visa, go through the following three steps:

  1. Choose one type of eVisas and start completing the visa application form with the required data. After providing all the necessary details in the form, double-check them for potential errors.
  2. Pay the service fee using one of the secure methods of online payment.
  3. Visit your email inbox and check if the confirmation email containing your application ID has already been sent to you. Your eVisa will also be delivered via email as soon as the immigration authorities approve it.

Once you receive your visa confirmation, make sure to download it and print it out.

Please note that your passport must be valid throughout the entire duration of your planned stay in PNG. Should there be any change in the passport's data, it expires, or you lose it, your visa will automatically become invalid.

Validity Period of PNG eVisa

The validity period of the Papua New Guinea visa depends on the selected visa type and can be either 30 or 60 days:

  • a 30-day PNG eVisa: the visa remains valid for 30 days and permits a stay of up to 30 days in the country;
  • a 60-day PNG eVisa: the visa stays valid for 60 days and enables staying for up to 60 days in PNG.

In both cases, the validity period of the visa starts on the day they plan to enter Papua New Guinea.

It is impossible to extend the PNG eVisas. If you wish to stay longer in the country, you should first leave PNG and then apply for a new visa before re-entering Papua New Guinea.

Eligible Countries for PNG eVisa

Countries eligible for a 30-Day PNG Visitor Permit Visa:

  • AustraliaAustralia
  • BarbadosBarbados
  • BahamasBahamas
  • BotswanaBotswana
  • BelizeBelize
  • CanadaCanada*
  • ChileChile*
  • CyprusCyprus*
  • DominicaDominica
  • FijiFiji*
  • United KingdomUnited Kingdom*
  • GrenadaGrenada
  • GuyanaGuyana
  • Hong KongHong Kong*
  • IndonesiaIndonesia*
  • IndiaIndia
  • JamaicaJamaica
  • JapanJapan*
  • KenyaKenya
  • KiribatiKiribati*
  • Saint Kitts and NevisSaint Kitts and Nevis
  • South KoreaSouth Korea*
  • Saint LuciaSaint Lucia
  • LesothoLesotho
  • MacauMacau*
  • MaltaMalta*
  • MauritiusMauritius
  • MexicoMexico*
  • MalaysiaMalaysia*
  • NamibiaNamibia
  • NauruNauru*
  • New ZealandNew Zealand*
  • PeruPeru*
  • PhilippinesPhilippines*
  • ThailandThailand*
  • TongaTonga*
  • TuvaluTuvalu
  • United StatesUnited States*
  • Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • VietnamVietnam
  • VanuatuVanuatu*
  • SamoaSamoa*
  • South AfricaSouth Africa
  • ZambiaZambia
  • SingaporeSingapore*
  • SeychellesSeychelles
  • RwandaRwanda
  • RussiaRussia
  • Brunei DarussalamBrunei Darussalam*
  • Trinidad and TobagoTrinidad and Tobago*
  • Solomon IslandsSolomon Islands*
  • Antigua and BarbudaAntigua and Barbuda

*All the nationalities marked with '*' are also eligible for the 60-day Visitor Visa.

Countries eligible for a 60-Day PNG Visitor Permit Visa:

  • AndorraAndorra
  • ArgentinaArgentina
  • American SamoaAmerican Samoa
  • AustriaAustria
  • BelgiumBelgium
  • BulgariaBulgaria
  • BruneiBrunei
  • BrazilBrazil
  • CanadaCanada
  • ChileChile
  • CyprusCyprus
  • Czech RepublicCzech Republic
  • GermanyGermany
  • DenmarkDenmark
  • EcuadorEcuador
  • EstoniaEstonia
  • FinlandFinland
  • FijiFiji
  • MicronesiaMicronesia
  • FranceFrance
  • GreeceGreece
  • Hong KongHong Kong
  • CroatiaCroatia
  • HungaryHungary
  • IndonesiaIndonesia
  • IrelandIreland
  • IsraelIsrael
  • IcelandIceland
  • ItalyItaly
  • JapanJapan
  • KiribatiKiribati
  • LiechtensteinLiechtenstein
  • LithuaniaLithuania
  • LuxembourgLuxembourg
  • LatviaLatvia
  • MonacoMonaco
  • Marshall IslandsMarshall Islands
  • MacauMacau
  • MaltaMalta
  • MaldivesMaldives
  • MexicoMexico
  • MalaysiaMalaysia
  • NetherlandsNetherlands
  • NorwayNorway
  • NauruNauru
  • New ZealandNew Zealand
  • PeruPeru
  • PhilippinesPhilippines
  • PolandPoland
  • PalauPalau
  • PortugalPortugal
  • Brunei DarussalamBrunei Darussalam

If you wish to visit Papua New Guinea but cannot find your nationality on any of the above lists, it means that you are not eligible for the PNG eVisa.
In this case, it will be necessary to contact the nearest PNG embassy or consulate and get a visa in a traditional way.

Papua New Guinea eVisa requirements

The Papua New Guinea visa requirements are not numerous and include:

  • a digital copy or scan of a passport's bio-data page (it cannot expire for the min. 180 days from the intended date of arrival in PNG and have at least 1 blank page)
  • a frequently used active email address to check all the updates in the visa application and download the approved Papua New Guinean visa.
  • a valid method of online payment, e.g., a credit/debit card, PayPal, etc.
  • a working electronic device with a stable Internet connection to submit the visa application form without any issues
png visa online

Benefits of Applying for a PNG visa online

By applying for a Papua New Guinea visa online, you may avoid the need to visit the PNG embassy or consulate, which most often involves stressful interviews and long hours spent waiting in line. Moreover, you can enjoy a few benefits more, such as:

  • e-mail and/or phone support from well-experienced visa experts available 7 days a week
  • a simplified and very intuitive application process
  • photo and document edition to meet the governmental requirements
  • the approved PNG visa delivered straight to your email address
  • recovery of your eVisa in case of its loss
  • wide range of online methods of payment available